Skip to main content

Scenic Cities 2019

By July 23, 2019No Comments

This month, 21 Texas municipalities earned official Scenic City certification through the Scenic City Certification Program, a project of Scenic Texas, Keep Texas Beautiful (KTB), and 16 statewide program partner organizations.

These municipalities have demonstrated their commitment to enact high-quality scenic standards for public roadways and public spaces that improve the quality of life in their communities. The Program’s focus to recognize excellence in scenic standards unifies the common mission of Scenic Texas and KTB, which is to enhance the visual environment of the Lone Star State. Since 2010, the Program has awarded 82 Texas municipalities with prominent Scenic City status in ascending levels of Recognized, Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum. 

The Scenic City Certification Program is a valuable diagnostic tool that offers all Texas cities an objective, 360° examination of existing municipal code language. Assessment is points-based, and every city receives a detailed scoresheet identifying weaknesses and areas for improvement. Official certification is awarded to cities that score in the upper half of possible points and can verify threshold standards for on-premise sign regulation, a landscaping/tree planting program, and prohibition of new billboards.

“As we mark the 10-year anniversary of the Scenic City Certification Program, we celebrate our Scenic Cities and partners including Keep Texas Beautiful. This program reflects a shared mission and vision for municipalities to make Texas a more scenic home and destination,” said Sarah Tober, Scenic Texas Executive Director. “Together, Scenic Texas and Keep Texas Beautiful are strengthening the image of our great state’s cities by providing resources and accolades in achievement that support the enhancement of our state’s visual environment.” 

2019 class of cities earning first-time certification or re-certification:

 *Argyle (First-Time) | Silver

*Arlington (First-Time) | Gold

Dayton (First-Time) | Recognized

*Denton (Re-Certified) | Gold

*Dripping Springs (Re-Certified) | Platinum

*Flower Mound (Re-Certified) | Platinum

*Forest Hill (First-Time) | Recognized

*Friendswood (Re-Certified) | Platinum

*Keller (Re-Certified) | Platinum

La Vernia (Re-Certified) | Silver

*Lago Vista (First-Time) | Gold

Lakeway (Re-Certified) | Gold

League City (First-Time) | Gold

*Mesquite (Re-Certified) | Gold

*Princeton (First-Time) | Recognized

*Richmond (Ranked Up) | Platinum

*Rowlett (First- Time) | Gold

*Taylor (Re-Certified) | Recognized

*Weatherford (First-Time) | Bronze

Webster (Re-Certified) | Silver

West Lake Hills (Re-Certified) | Silver 

*Indicates a KTB Affiliate 

A reception to present these 21 municipalities with their Scenic City certification will be held on October 10th at the Texas Municipal League Annual Conference in San Antonio. The Scenic City Certification Program application period opens annually on January 1 – March 31. Texas municipalities interested in applying can visit to review the Program’s standards and application.

​Blog Post Written By Chris Cantu, Scenic Houston.